Home Open Account Help 170 users online

Model Railroading > Rail Zip for cleaning track

Current Page:1 of 3

Date: 05/24/20 11:53
Rail Zip for cleaning track
Author: yooperfan

By far the biggest impediment to my fully enjoying my smallish layout is "dirty" rail.  I've tried almost everything and in my experience the best solution  is to spread an inch length of Rail Zip on the rails and then let the trains spread it around. That thin rail coating improves conductivity immensely.  An easy and immediate transformation from a jerky operation to a  smooth one. 

Any downsides to Rail Zip? Does it accumulate over time until you have major problems?   Is automatic transmission fluid for a car really the same thing as Rail Zip? 

Thanks for for your comments. 

Date: 05/24/20 12:37
Re: Rail Zip for cleaning track
Author: SP4360

I've been using it for a few years and have noticed a buildup of film on the rail but no adverse affects. Once a month or so i spread a little out on the main track and yard throats with good results, even on industrial tracks that see very little usage.

Date: 05/24/20 13:20
Author: JimBaker

Slightly O.T. but interesting. --
Back in the 1950s, I had a Mantua Mogu that I thought needed a wheel cleaning.
I took my motor tool, mounted a polishing wheel in it and started to clean the drivers.
After that exercise, the loco wouldn't pull more than two or three cars uphill!

James R.(Jim) Baker
Whittier, CA

Date: 05/24/20 14:00
Author: CajonRat

WD40 contact cleaner works great for me.

Date: 05/24/20 14:26
Author: MarkG

CajonRat Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> WD40 contact cleaner works great for me.

Almost any kind of grease-less electrical contact cleaner will work. The one I've used is LPS Contact Cleaner in an aerosol can. This one has been around for a long time and is grease-less so it won't build up a film on your rail or wheels.