Home Open Account Help 173 users online

Model Railroading > Sprung trucks, or not?

Date: 06/04/20 14:36
Sprung trucks, or not?
Author: Jeff_Johnston

This is one of those subjects that I'm sure will have as many answers as there are modelers.

First of all, some qualifiers to help avoid the "Is the monitor plugged into the computer?" comments. I've been a modeler for many years, and decades. I have a good handle on assembling, tuning and operating HO scale models. I understand the theoretical value of having sprung sideframe trucks as far as flexibility for uneven track work and so on is concerned. Now the question:

Does anyone have any information about the real-world value of using sprung trucks on your average HO scale freight cars? So far, our layout has very few cars with sprung trucks and we don't have any problems with the solid-sideframe truck cars negotiating any of our track work.

Has anyone replaced non-spring trucks with sprung trucks and noticed any bump up in reliability, tracking ability and so on?

I posted some vintage Lindberg trucks with sprung side frames on Ebay and that got me to wondering about the value, real or imagined, of the springing in a real-world model railroad environment.

Thank you for any thoughts anyone can pass along.

Jeff Johnston
trainvideosandparts.com

Date: 06/04/20 14:50
Re: Sprung trucks, or not?
Author: tomstp

If your no spring trucks are fairly flexible and are not screwed tight to the bolster it basically serves the same purpose as sprung trucks.  I have both on my cars and have not  noticed any difference.

Date: 06/04/20 16:14
Author: sixaxlecentury

Sprung trucks were just a hokey gimmick.  They look like crap, and usually operate like crap also, especially when they start to fall apart.  

Date: 06/04/20 16:48
Author: SantaFeRuss

For me, I prefer non sprung trucks for the same reason Tomstp has stated. The ridged trucks are more reliable so long as you don't screw them in too tight.

SantaFeRuss