Home Open Account Help 350 users online

Model Railroading > Primer for Tru-color paint

Date: 07/15/21 18:12
Primer for Tru-color paint
Author: Smallplanet

Friends, After ruining about $10 dollars worth of Scalecoat trying to match Erie green, and gave up and ordered Tru-Color online. I am in Hawaii; the order cleared and shipped; so obviously it is water-based. (solvent-based paints can not be shipped by air), I have zero experience with Tru-Color, or water based paints of any kind. Please share with me what to prime my stripped brass F-units with.

Thanks, Steve

Date: 07/15/21 18:24
Re: Primer for Tru-color paint
Author: Betsy

I use their primer, I prefer the flat primer, you can probably use whatever primer you think will best adhere to the brass.  I've been using Accupaint/Trucolor for about 20 years, I can assure it is not water-based.  The thinner is a a mixture of acetone, methyl ethyl ketone, and a couple of different alcohols that serve the purpose of keeping the other solvents from attacking plastic.  Which I know sounds odd, but as a test I soaked a piece of styrene in Trucolor solvent for several days with no ill effects.

Elizabeth

Date: 07/15/21 19:39

Thanks Elizabeth, I am shocked that the paint shipped. Every time I have tried to order solvent based paints on eBay, the orders have always been rejected. Not by the seller, but eBay themselves, with a big red prohibited banner. I spay Scalecoat, mostly UP yellow and other light colors, and prime with Scalecoat gloss white. An old custom painter for Overland taught me that. It makes the finish coat brighter and more "alive". I'll try a small sample, Thanks Again

Date: 07/15/21 20:38
Author: KM-ML4000

I have been using Tamiya's grey fine surface primer. It is available both in bottles and rattle cans. I have been using the rattle can with great success. The rattle can sprays thin even coats.

https://www.tamiyausa.com/shop/finishing/fine-surface-primer-l/

Date: 07/15/21 23:02

Thank you