Passenger Rail in the U.S. - And the Other Rail
Author: GenePoon

A Tale of Two Railroad Systems
Cabot Wealth Advisory
by Chloe Lutts
August 16, 2011

Passenger Rail in the U.S.
And the Other Rail

> I’ve been traveling between New York and Boston frequently for over three years. The transportation options between the two have
> definitely improved since I moved here; now I can choose the Bolt Bus or the Megabus, both of which have WiFi and electrical outlets. But
> I’ve also taken the Fung Wah and the Lucky Star buses, which leave from Chinatown and seat passengers on a first-come-first-served
> basis. They all get pretty cramped, especially on weekends and holidays. Yet, my absolute worst trips have been the ones I’ve paid
> the most for—when I’ve tried to take Amtrak.
>
> Amtrak tickets usually cost about five times as much as bus tickets, which is theoretically worth it for the roomy cars, on-board food and
> drink and faster travel time. Unfortunately, the reality of Amtrak is quite different. After spending hours in Penn Station one winter, I
> resolved never again to take Amtrak when there was snow on the ground. The next summer, a train I was on slowed to a crawl due to
> flooding—it was not raining at the time. The final straw was last year, when I arrived at New York’s Penn Station in absolutely perfect
> weather to find my train’s arrival was delayed by at least an hour. Savvier—or at least more cynical—than before, I went outside, walked
> a block, and got on a Megabus for Boston. I called Amtrak from the bus to cancel my ticket, and I was halfway to Boston before that
> train even arrived in New York. I haven’t even tried to take the train since.
>
> Obviously, anecdotal evidence is just that—but my experience with America’s passenger train system seems to jibe with its reputation.
> Amtrak—which is a government-owned corporation—has been a target of derision ever since it was created in 1971.
>