Home Open Account Help 290 users online

Passenger Trains > Travel tips, Zephyr to Capital Limited to Silver Meteor

Date: 08/30/16 13:34
Travel tips, Zephyr to Capital Limited to Silver Meteor
Author: RetiredGal9

It will be my first time on CZ east of Reno. I would appreciate any suggestions. I travel West Coast a lot but this is my first time all the way to North Carolina. I have a few hours in both Chicago and DC, probably not long enough to do anything except get lost, so will stay in the Metropolitan Lounge I guess. Thanks for any tips. 

Date: 08/30/16 13:41
Re: Travel tips, Zephyr to Capital Limited to Silver Meteor
Author: P

Willis Tower in Chicago is very close to Union Station in Chicago. 

Date: 08/30/16 13:57
Author: johnpage

All of Washington is at your feet just by stepping out the front door of Washington Union Station. A 10 minute walk will bring you to a lot of great places. Take a look at a Google map of Washington and do some planning. You will be glad you did.

Date: 08/30/16 14:00
Author: cutboy2

Chicago.  Go outside on River  side (east) and smell the  roses. Quite pleasant. Fresh air. People watching.

Date: 08/30/16 14:05
Author: mundo

In Wash DC.

US Postal museum is across the street.

​Take a ride on the new Street car right from station.  Its only 10 minute or so ride.

​Enjoy the views just from Union Station of the public buildings/Capital.

​In Chicago, take advantage of the tower view.  This is the Former Sears Tower.

​Walk a couple of blocks around the station, view the Chicago River.  You do not have to sit in the Station, get out and about.

Date: 08/30/16 14:33
Author: march_hare

In Chicago, you can also walk across the river (right next to the station) and board a water taxi that will take you down to the Navy Pier on Lake Michigan.  Then ride back.  Nice boat trip through some of the best architecture in town.

You'll need to check the schedule, during the day they seemed to be running on about hourly timings.