Home Open Account Help 347 users online

Railfan Technology > Baofeng UV-82 questions

Date: 03/11/14 08:44
Baofeng UV-82 questions
Author: csx950

I am thinking about getting a Baofeng UV-82 radio for railfanning use. Have a few questions.
Is this a good choice for railfanning? Anybody have one? Where is the best place to buy one?
Any info will be appreciated.

Thanks.
Doug

Date: 03/11/14 13:45
Re: Baofeng UV-82 questions
Author: kgmontreal

I have no experience with the Bao-Feng UV-82. But I do have a Bao-Feng UV5RE+. It is not my preferred railfan scanner.

KG

Date: 03/11/14 23:35
Author: Top_bullfrog

I know it's not directly applicable to the UV-82, but I picked up a UV-B5 a few weeks back and will share my thoughts on it. It's the upgraded version of the UV-5R, with better internals which are more capable of ignoring intermodulation and have slightly higher receive sensitivity. From what I understand, the UV-82 and the UV-5R have the same internals, with slight external case modifications. I think the UV-82 comes with a slightly better stock antenna than the UV-5R. The older radios(UV-5R and UV-82) have some add-ons available, such as extended capacity batteries, and cases, which haven't been produced for the UV-B5 yet.

I got the UV-B5 as a replacement for my Yeasu VX-5R, and so far with the stock antenna its performance has been adequate, but not quite as good as the VX-5R with an aftermarket antenna. Battery life so far seems to be 2-3 days of listening from 10am to 10pm. It has 100 memories, which can fit the 97 AAR frequencies and a few extras if you need. The user interface is a bit clunky, but with a bit of practice it makes sense. With any Baofeng radio, I'd recommend getting a programming cable and using a free program called Chirp to enter the frequencies. I've been happy with it so far, and with the low price($32) if it needs to be replaced I won't feel too bad about it. I got mine from amazon.

Top_bullfrog
Sacramento, CA

Date: 03/12/14 12:39