Home Open Account Help 261 users online

Railfan Technology > Electronics Ban on Aircraft

Date: 05/09/17 11:53
Electronics Ban on Aircraft
Author: andersonb109

This is my first time posting on this Discussion so forgive it this is the wrong place. Many of us fly overseas for railway photography. And carry thousands of dollars or equipment with us. I always carry mine on the aircraft as I don't trust my bag to end up where it's suppose to. I can live without some clean clothes but not the cameras. So I see this afternoon on Fox News that the government is now thinking about extending the ban on electronics in carry ons, specifically lap tops but could include other devices on flights from Europe to the U.S. This is already in effect from several middle eastern airports. So if this happens, how does one get their equipment to the photo event safety? I'm all about security but there must be some way like the TSA Pre-Check we have here to pass some sort of screening so they know I'm not going to blow up the plane. Even if the camera bag ends up at the proper destination, I see how luggage is handled and have no confidence the equipment wouldn't be damaged in the process. Thoughts?

Date: 05/09/17 13:19
Re: Electronics Ban on Aircraft
Author: LiveWire2

FedEx/UPS/DHL

Date: 05/10/17 07:59
Author: 55002

I can only assume 'Livewire' has never seen couriers throwing parcels around. Absolutely the last people I would trust with camera gear. I've not heard of any thoughts on extending the ban, but if it comes to it, on my next flight to the US from Europe it would have to checked baggage. There really is no alternative. Chris uk.

Date: 05/10/17 10:28
Author: 3rdboxcar

I have heard comments from an airline security type person who says it will be inevitable in the future that all flights will not allow any electronic devices in the cabin.She also added that the airlines will have to up their game on proper baggage handling to accommodate this.