Home Open Account Help 309 users online

Railfan Technology > From DSLR to Mirrorless - More Toys Part 2

Date: 08/23/17 15:22
From DSLR to Mirrorless - More Toys Part 2
Author: JUTower

Hi all,
In part 2 of my "new gadgets" series (my earlier post reviews the DJI Spark quadcopter), I recently made the jump from a Canon 5D Mark II full-frame DSLR to a Fuji mirrorless kit with interchangable lenses. I thought I would explain why I made the change, and what I've found thus far.

I am a fairly serious photographer, though, like so many of us, life's commitments take more and more of my time, and I've come to notice that the heavy DSLR tended to stay in the camera bag more and more. When I bought the 5D MkII back in 2009, I absolutely loved it, and made good money using it. About a year later, I bought the 24-70 f2.8L which made for a perfect pairing with the 5D. Beautiful photos, lots of fun.

But in the years since, I was excitedly waiting for Canon to catch up to some features that seemed to be coming after multiple Nikon releases. Some were silly-yet-useful, like the built-in level, or geotagging of photos; others were fundamental, like improved dynamic range, better handling of yellow/red highlights, etc. Mitch Goldman discussed both of these topics at length; and I tend to share his views on those topics.

After the 5D MkIII came out, I felt it wasn't worth the upgrade. But surely, the Mk IV would be, right? Not at $3,500 body only! Even if that camera was priced at the MkII's $2200, I didn't think that the improvements would justify the expense.