Home Open Account Help 206 users online

Railfan Technology > Should I buy a "railroad radio" model for railfanning?

Date: 05/21/23 08:54
Should I buy a "railroad radio" model for railfanning?
Author: WW

I've touched on this subject before, but I'll cover it bit more thoroughly here.  I've had this question posed to me back when I worked in the railroad industry and since then.  The short answer is no, I don't recommend it.

First, what is railroad model radio?  Starting in 2013, when both narrow-banding was mandated by the FCC and when railroads settled on NXDN as their future digital radio platform, two manufacturers introduced portable and mobile railroad-specific models--Kenwood and Icom.  These radios were not entirely new models--they were existing radio models with specific firmware and software modifications for railroad use.  Their main firmware and software modification was to enable the user to enter and AAR channel no. (see my recent discussion about AAR channel nos.) from the keypad and go directly to that channel.  For example, if the user wanted to go to AAR Channel No. 023 023, the user could just enter those numbers on keypad and the radio would go to that channel, with no scrolling, knob twisting, etc. necessary.  At first blush, these would seem to be an attractive option for a railfan radio, but, in fact, it is not, for reasons that I will describe below.