Home Open Account Help 392 users online

Western Railroad Discussion > Train handling questions, quite specific on mountain grades

Date: 11/22/17 11:30
Train handling questions, quite specific on mountain grades
Author: kilux

Hello!

I am a german engineer and for more than 10 years I operate on mountain grades (up to 3,8% through the Alps (via Austria to Italy). I added some pictures so you get an idea.

About a year ago I came across a simulator called Run8 - obviously I know, that no simulator, even a professional one, comes close to train handling in reality - usually the professional ones are just good enough for training purposes.
However, having that in mind, I am told for a "game", Run8 comes quite close to reality. There are quite a few "real" railroaders in the Run8 community that approve of that.

Finally to my question(s):

You run a ~8000t, 2,7hpt train with ~80 TOB in 3x2 (ES44's for example) down a 2,2% grade like Tehachapi summit to Ilmon just to give an example.

- What kind of brake pipe reduction would usually be sufficient? In theory, the DB should hold a train like this nearly by itself which of course is not in accordance with the rules as far I can tell. So the engineer would use the DB plus a minimum 6PSI reduction or more?

- Let's say you have to stop on the grade because of a meet. Do you keep the (minimum?) reduction and just use all of the DB to slow down and the independent brake as you come to a stop or do you apply more? If stopped, how much reduction to keep it safely stopped? I think I read something about a 15PSI reduction?