Home Open Account Help 290 users online

Western Railroad Discussion > thoughts on a "scheduled freight railroad"

Date: 06/16/18 21:27
thoughts on a "scheduled freight railroad"
Author: goneon66

i'll admit, i have NO operating experience with a "scheduled freight railroad." i was just thinking, would a "scheduled freight railroad" work on the bnsf between needles and los angeles?

here are my thoughts:

1. bnsf runs "long pools" between needles and bakersfield, with some of it over the u.p. on trackage rights. i think it would be difficult to run a "scheduled freight railroad" over a competitors line when you have NO control over their movements and/or schedules.

2. the bnsf runs with metrolink and amtrak in the l.a. basin. again, i think it would be difficult to run a "scheduled freight railroad" in the l.a. basin along with BOTH the metrolink and amtrak schedules AND having no control over their schedules.

3. IF there is a needles to l.a./hobart "long pool," i think it would be even more difficult to schedule those around the l.a. basin's passenger movements and still keep the nee-lac "long pools" within their h.o.s. AND the premium freight delivered in the MOST EXPEDITIOUS manner.

4. stack trains would be at the mercy of the ports unloading/offloading of containers. that would really be difficult.

keeping HOT expedited trains AHEAD of their schedules was beneficial. IF the HOT expedited train had a delay and was running AHEAD of schedule, there was still a chance it could still be "on-time" at its destination......

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 06/16/18 21:35 by goneon66.

Date: 06/17/18 01:15
Re: thoughts on a "scheduled freight railroad"
Author: railscenes

At the initial terminals for most of the main intermodal trains on the BNSF, they already have scheduled departure times and days. Have been for many years, They don't publish the schedules for the public like they used to with passenger trains.