Home Open Account Help 286 users online

Eastern Railroad Discussion > Help newbie understand signals

Date: 10/02/22 11:12
Help newbie understand signals
Author: dadonatrain

I’m a newbie railfan. Just learning. I’d like help understanding two signals I saw today. (I can’t figure how to paste the pic I took. Sorry about that.)

The main NS line btwn Atlanta and Charlotte runs through my little town. It’s double track. There is a signal tower across both tracks with signals on both tracks in both directions. Today, the SB signal for track M2 was yellow over red. I think that means “approach”. But at the same time the signal over the same track M2 facing NB was also yellow over red. What don’t I understand about the same signal facing opposite directions on the same track at the same time?

Posted from iPhone

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 10/02/22 11:14 by dadonatrain.

Date: 10/02/22 12:13
Re: Help newbie understand signals
Author: globalethanol

The next signals in either directions may be absolutes.
Meaning those signals are protecting interlockings (powered turnouts or crossovers) and those absolutes are displaying "stop". No trains are lined
in either direction.

Tom

Posted from Android

Date: 10/02/22 12:33
Author: wcamp1472

Some signals are part of a series ..... you'll have advance warning of what the 
NEXT signal might be displaying.

When controlling a long train, the LAST thing you want is a sudden signal
aspect that gets more restrictive...

So, advance, spaced,  signals give engineers speed modifications they should be obeying,
BEFORE they get to the next set of signals.....that could be miles down the 'road...
The next set of signals could be more 'informative'....

So, becoming an engineer over a territory means that you have to know, by heart,
what signals are in your territory, where they are located, and what 'aspects'  & combinations
of colors that you can expect to see.   That memorization process is called "being qualified"