Home Open Account Help 266 users online

Eastern Railroad Discussion > FEC Railfanning Questions

Date: 02/23/24 20:41
FEC Railfanning Questions
Author: trainmandan

Hello to the members of the Eastern Board!

I've heard through the grapevine that Florida East Coast's parent company, GrupoMexico, has started to repaint the ES44ACs into a new corporate blue/gree/gray scheme that, IMO, is not nearly as striking as the famous Champions scheme. Because I live in Chicagoland and never get down to Florida, fanning the FEC has never really been a priority item - more of a bucket list thing - until I heard about the paint news. Now all of a sudden I feel like the timeline to visit has moved up rather considerably to see some of these units before it's too late, so I'm considering a potential trip to visit the line.

Because I work as an accountant, I have very little free time to travel anywhere until post-April 15, and other priorities around Chicagoland would prevent me from making a visit until mid-May at the earliest (more likely late May - early June). Such a visit would likely be a max of 1-2 days and would primarily be focused on catching some of the remaining Champions units (though I am not opposed to capturing the new scheme or even seeing the new Vets unit and the Breast Cancer Geeps, plus a little Brightline action while I'm at it, time permitting).

Given all that, here are my questions for a potential visit:

1) What would be considered the busiest portions of the route (which could include / exclude Brightline traffic)? I'm primarily hoping for mainline traffic but not opposed to local traffic if it's nearby.
2) Are there any famous landmarks along the route (e.g., depots, signals, etc.) that are must-sees for a first-time visitor?
3) Similar to (2), what should be included in my top 3 locations to capture FEC traffic to maximize my visit?