Home Open Account Help 370 users online

Model Railroading > Newbie Airbrush Questions

Date: 09/06/06 15:44
Newbie Airbrush Questions
Author: mhuffstutter

Could any of you experienced folks help out a complete beginner here?
I have investigated enough to know that I need to use a spray booth, and
that the key is practice, practice....

My question concerns the airbrush to start with, specifically single
vs dual action. I looks like the Badger 150 is a popular model; any opinions
as to whether or not dual action is desired? A friend who has been at it for
quite a while feels that single action is sufficient. Also, in the case of the
Badger, and for use painting N-Scale frames, which tip (fine, medium, heavy)
would be the best used?

Thanks Folks,
Mark

Date: 09/06/06 18:42
Re: Newbie Airbrush Questions
Author: ESPEE5318

I have been using the 150 for many years and highly recommend it. I have other more expensive airbrushes but the 150 is my favorite and the one I use the most. The beauty of double action is you can change the spray pattern on the fly once you get more trigger time you will become one with the brush and you can make changes in spray pattern faster that you can think about it.With single action you would need to stop and make adjustments I use the medium needle the most about 99% of the time the fine needle is very fine you can put rust on a rivet head......I tried the heavy needle once it is very heavy like for painting G scale stuff....if you buy one of the sets you will get all three needles ...................Joe

Date: 09/06/06 18:46
Author: ATSFDave

Mark,I use A Paasche model H single action,and it works great for everything I ever used it for.I also have a badger 150 that I used for many years,It was A great basic airbrush,But I think You would like The Paasche better,But again,It all comes down to the matter of personal preference.

Regards,
David

Date: 09/06/06 19:09
Author: bozotexino