Home Open Account Help 366 users online

Model Railroading > In need of a power cut switch for engine terminal.

Date: 06/25/15 00:04
In need of a power cut switch for engine terminal.
Author: steam290

I'm new to most wiring projects other than standard, "hook up the red wire here and the black wire there." I want a power cut switch for my engine terminal. What kind of switch do you guys recommend? I found some info on Google, but they weren't specific enough. I don't want to use a switch that will mess up something on the layout.

Excuse my stupidity here, but I have to start somewhere. My photo below should prove that I'm not as much a novice in the scenery department.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 06/25/15 00:08 by steam290.

Date: 06/25/15 04:01
Re: In need of a power cut switch for engine terminal.
Author: calsubd

KISS method, all depends how you want to mount it, most any switch will do

Ed Stewart
Jacksonville, FL

Date: 06/25/15 05:53
Author: santafedan

Single pole/on/off switch on 1 wire.

Date: 06/25/15 07:26
Author: wabash2800

Whatever your flavor with only two postions, on and off:  push button, toggle switch (side to side) or  slide switch. Basically the power is cut on one wire and kills the track . The latter two would probably work the best best so you would know which is on and which is off unless your push botton has a light on it that goes out when the power is off.

Date: 06/25/15 07:58
Author: fbe

If it is a DCC layout with 12-14 ga solid copper wire you can use a household wall switch. These are cheap, reliable and easy to install in one of the bus wires.

Posted from Windows Phone OS 7

Date: 06/25/15 09:01
Author: Jeff_Johnston