Home Open Account Help 408 users online

Model Railroading > Arrgh! Peco turnouts and electrical conductivity

Date: 12/25/01 08:34
Arrgh! Peco turnouts and electrical conductivity
Author: NevinW

I have a walk-around layout with handheld controls. I decided that I didn't want to use electrical switch machines. I decided to use Peco electrofrog turnouts as then have a built-in device to hold the points to the stock rail. I wired them in front of the points and have relied on them to conduct the current to the frog with gaps beyond the frog. I have operated the layout for the past 6 months without much problem. A few turnouts have had poor electrical conductivity but the addition of a caboose hobbies ground throw solved the problem. This week I started painting and ballasting the track. I masked the points when I painted and did not ballast around the points figuring that I wound do that later. Despite these precautions, now none of the turnouts in the area where I ballasted conduct electricity!! In the past I have used contact switches to control the polarity of the frog or the contacts of the electric switch machine but that is lots of work. Caboose hobbies has a manual ground throw with contacts but it looks big and clunky to me. Any suggestions on how to fix this problem? Would Wahls clipper oil help? Any simple ways to increase conductivity of the points? Walkaround layouts shouldn't need switch machines! Thanks in advance. - Nevin

Date: 12/25/01 09:39
RE: Arrgh! Peco turnouts and electrical conductivi
Author: tunnelmotor1

Caboose hobbies has a manual ground throw with contacts is your best bet (yes they are a pain to install) But give you %100 reliablity.specially with running small wheelbase loco's which tend to stall more .. As without the contacts iv'e Had poor reliablity. Maybe I don't know any tricks and someone else out there knows a trick or two.

merry xmas

Date: 12/25/01 09:55
Author: rnb3