Home Open Account Help 367 users online

Model Railroading > Installing sound in a dummy unit

Date: 09/15/19 05:53
Installing sound in a dummy unit
Author: march_hare

I’ve recently come across three undecprated dummy F7B units that I hope to make into bedraggled looking Penn Central power. 

Im new to DCC and sound, and I’d like to put sound in these carbodies. Are there larger speakers available for applications like this, and if so, are hey worth the effort?  The effect I’d like to produce is a whole bunch of 567s loading up individually, slightly offset from each other. And I’d like at least a few of the units to be louder than the others. Seems to me 5hatnwould be easier with a bigger speaker. 

Any my tips or suggestions?  I assume power pickup will be an issue. Will reverb inside the empty car bodies be an issue?

Date: 09/15/19 08:12
Re: Installing sound in a dummy unit
Author: Frank30

Way back in the beginning of DCC sound, a decoder occupied a complete box car. I installed the decoder in the end of the car closest
to the power source (the powered engine). I installed a micro-socket on the back of the engine under the walkway. The plug half of the
arrangement (which plugs into the socket on the back of the engine) connects to the decoder. Cut a horitontal slots in the end of non-
powered unit. Have a loop of wire inside with the decoder so there's no strain going around curves.  Since the non-powered engine you're
going to use has a lot of openings around the chassis, you'll need to create a baffle out of the upper half of the body, back of speaker
would be in this section, speaker would point down to the ground.  Drill some holes to let the sound out.
There could be variations to this method.  If you have ability to pick up power from the wheels in your non-powered unit, then you can
do away with the plug and socket between units.  Use decoders and speakers with 2 watts of power. remember half of the volume of