Home Open Account Help 399 users online

Model Railroading > Metal scrap load for scrap gondolas

Date: 01/08/20 19:49
Metal scrap load for scrap gondolas
Author: inCHI

This is my first try at making scrap loads out of metal shavings. I bought 6 oz. of iron shavings off of ebay, and looked up how to rust it. Using a plastic tray I had, I spread out a quarter of the filings in a thin even layer, and then sprayed a mixture of hydrogen peroxide, vinegar, and salt on it with a spray bottle. Depending on how soaked it got it started to rust almost immediately. Letting it sit while the moisture evaporated allowed it to rust more completely on the surface. After a day or so I scraped up the filings and initially found that the underside lying on the plastic wasn't rusted since the moisture didn't get there. More applications and mixing fixed that. There was some clumping that I pulverized with a glass bottle. For now, just messing around with it, I filled these two gons entirely with the mixture. Looking at prototype photos I think I actually should allow about have the metal to stay free of rust and avoid it becoming to powdered. I'll probably order some more and then I can remix to get a different consistency.

In the background, the DJJX high sided gon has a mixture that I made when I was teenager using metal shavings that my Dad got from someone. I need to get that gon weathered to match. The CSX gon in the foreground is a project car I made from an older Walthers kit that I found, and I added metal grab irons to part of it. From what I found, this car actually is a CSX prototype, stemming from a small series of RF&P gons inherated by CSX. for 50-52' gons, I don't think any other car out there is accurate, aside from the Atlas thrall 2743's that CSX briefly had in the late 90's. Luckily, NS still does have that car, which is the model in the middle. Accurate gons are hard to find... I wish I had a Tangent CR G43 to beat up and load with scrap.