Home Open Account Help 232 users online

Railfan Technology > Advice scanning negatives - too much grain.

Date: 03/30/06 18:55
Advice scanning negatives - too much grain.
Author: Mgoldman

I got myself a new toy - a Nikon Coolscan V ED and I'm still playing around with it.
I've heard it was one of the better units though perhaps pricy.

I have been shooting mostly digital for the last 2 years or so and love the results and ease
of tweeking the shots - Photoshop is now the darkroom I never had.

The debate on film versus digital has me stumped.
My digitals look great, razor sharp in a wide range of situations.
My prints never really looked as sharp as I had hoped.
I thought it was the processing (low end? Kodak drops at Supermarkets or drug store, but always the Kodak processing option). I gather those 4X6's were scanned at 300 dpi and developed onto the film.
So now I have my Photoshop darkroom and well preserved negatives and a 4000 dpi scanner.

Everything so far is very grainy - unless I use GEM which is like a smart blur. That reduces the grain but I think the sharpness suffers. Unsharp rarely can bring it back perfectly. ALSO, the grain remains - less like dots and more like lines that are muddled or sometimes splotchy looking.

Any ideas or advice?

Most of these photos are on Kodak Royal Gold 100 or 200. Some on Gold 100 - when I didn't bring enough film on the trip, it had to do.

I have a bunch of slides but I'm more concerned right now with the negatives.

Here's an exagerated example - enlarged 200% with GEM and later some sharpening. GEM reduced the blur but the photo looks like water color. Less GEM means more grain again - has the effect of bad contrast, too.
Ironically, I can scan my 4X6 prints with better results at this point.

Date: 03/30/06 19:15
Re: Advice scanning negatives - too much grain.

Here's the same scan zoomed up to show detail - this time with no GEM (no bluring).

Date: 03/30/06 19:17

Here's the original untouched scan without GEM.