Home Open Account Help 356 users online

Railfan Technology > What does RAW Mean?

Date: 06/01/09 06:06
What does RAW Mean?
Author: SVTS

I Must confess, I considered myself fairly up to date on Photography. I am by no means an expert, but one term I have not been able to understand, is what does RAW mean when it comes to photography and what are the benefits of taking photos as such? Thanks in advance.

Chris Bogley
Bowie, MD

Date: 06/01/09 06:22
Re: What does RAW Mean?
Author: Indecline

Date: 06/01/09 06:25
Author: theirishlion

From Wikipedia

What is a RAW file?

A raw image file contains minimally processed data from the image sensor of either a digital camera, image or motion picture film scanner. Raw files are so named because they are not yet processed and therefore are not ready to be used with a bitmap graphics editor or printed. Normally, the image is processed by a raw converter in a wide-gamut internal colorspace where precise adjustments can be made before conversion to a "positive" file format such as TIFF or JPEG for storage, printing, or further manipulation, which often encodes the image in a device-dependent colorspace. These images are often described as "RAW image files" based on the erroneous belief that they represent a single file format. In fact there are dozens if not hundreds of raw image formats in use by different models of digital equipment (like cameras or film scanners).[1]