Home Open Account Help 372 users online

Western Railroad Discussion > Iron horse Trail/Snoqualmie Tunnel

Date: 05/03/15 18:56
Iron horse Trail/Snoqualmie Tunnel
Author: RS11

Took advantage of a beautiful day to seek out a planned hiking trip up on Snoqualmie Pass in Washington State.  My intent was to see if it was at all possible to walk through the Snoqualmie Railroad Tunnel from east to west, then upon exiting the west end to find a way to climb up to the Pacific Crest Trail, then finish the hike to where the Pacific Crest Trail intersected with I-90.  Found out it would be a climb indeed.  Almost straight up from the west end of the tunnel.  I didn't find any "trail" and talking with some of the locals and not so locals they didn't think there was.

Anyway, here's a few pictures I took of the railroad tunnel and the Iron Horse Trailhead at Hyak, Washington, just off I-90.  I'm a lousy photographer but heck, thought I'd share them with anyone who wants to look.

First picture is the trailhead in Hyak.  The old railroad bed is the gravel you see to the left of the parked cars.  It's about a quarter mile from there to the tunnel.

Second picture is the east end of the tunnel.

Third picture is the west end of the tunnel.

The tunnel itself is 2.3 miles long.  It's pitch black inside and a flashlight is helpful.  It cool and damp inside.  It took me 40 minutes to walk from one end to the other.  Here's a link for those interested.  http://www.wta.org/go-hiking/hikes/iron-horse-tunnel

Date: 05/03/15 19:00
Re: Iron horse Trail/Snoqualmie Tunnel

Few more pictures closer up of the west end of the tunnel.

One picture looking down on I-90.

Date: 05/03/15 19:26
Author: up833