Home Open Account Help 223 users online

Model Railroading > Blackstone DCC Sound help!

Date: 06/26/11 16:02
Blackstone DCC Sound help!
Author: spike

I am trying to program my new Blackstone C-19 DCC locomotive. How do you go about programing with CV? I am mainly trying to adjust CV 115( the type of whistle) I am using an MRC DCC system.

Sorry if this is a really basic question. I am new to DCC so any help will greatly be appreciated!

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 06/26/11 17:45 by spike.

Date: 06/26/11 16:37
Re: Blackstone DCC Sound help!
Author: cf7

Did you read the instructions that came with the locomotive?
cf7

Date: 06/26/11 17:55

Yes, I read the "Quick start guide" included with the locomotive. It doesn't give me more information than using CV 115 for the whistles. Sorry, I'm still new to DCC.

Date: 06/26/11 18:01
Author: WrongWayMurphy

I think you will need to dive deeper into the manual. Somewhere in there
there should be a guide on what values to change under CV115 to give different sounds,
that is if the sound decoder in the Blackstone is capable of providing different whistle sounds.

Some of the cheaper sound decoders have only one whistle sound.

Date: 06/26/11 19:04

If I'm not mistaken, and correct me if I'm wrong, but does Blackstone come with
a Tsunami Sound Decoder in them? If this is true you should have a list of all
of the different whistles available. On my Tsunami diesels i have a choice of
15 different horns to match whatever is on the engine that I', programming.
What do you have for a DCC system?
cf7

Date: 06/26/11 19:18

Yes it does have a Tsunami decoder and I know it has a choice between all the different whistles that were common on these particular locomotive. I have an MRC system. The problem is that I don't know how to program a new whistle into my locomotive.

Date: 06/26/11 19:30
Author: RioGrandeFan